the new workout plan

I know… I know what you’re saying… “It’s been a long time… shouldn’t have left you… without a dope beat to step to (in my Timbaland voice) or without a strong rhyme to step to (in my Rakim voice for all you hip hop heads out there)”. Well, I’ve had a lot on my plate lately that has kept me away during the new year so charge it to my head and not my heart!

One of those things has been trying to shake off this winter hibernation thing I had going. Like a lot of other people at the start of the new year, I’ve been attempting to kick my fitness routine into full swing. After all… summer bodies are made in the winter!

“1 and 2 and 3 and 4 and get them sit ups right and… tuck your tummy tight and… do your crunches like this!”

All them mocha lattes… you gotta do Pilates!!

Now, you know I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t somehow find a way to incorporate music into the deal. Just as I believe music can soothe a broken heart, add fuel to an angry fire, uplift the downtrodden, and add a little extra sunshine to an already sun-shining day – I also believe that music can be the soundtrack to your motivation (no Weezy). A great workout playlist can make the difference between just going through the motions and one helluva kick arse workout!

Here I’ve compiled a list to help you get started with your own list. I have a tendency to dig in the crates a bit (like House of Pain’s “Jump Around” or LL Cool J’s “Mama Said Knock You Out”), so I’ll try to keep it (fairly) recent! Hopefully I’ve included a little something for everybody.

Rihanna – Where Have You Been

Rihanna – We Found Love

Diddy – Dirty Money – Hello, Good Morning – Remix (feat. Rick Ross & Nicki Minaj)

Rihanna – Don’t Stop the Music

Joe Budden – Pump It Up

Chris Brown – Beautiful People

Chris Brown – Turn Up the Music

DJ Khaled – All I Do Is Win – Remix (feat. T-Pain, Rick Ross, Busta Rhymes, Diddy, Nicki Minaj, Fabolous, Jadakiss & Fat Joe)

Chris Brown – Yeah 3x

T.I. – Bring Em Out

Beyonce – End of Time

Beyonce – Run the World (Girls)

LMFAO – Party Rock Anthem (You know you think of that Kia commercial with the dancing hamsters, too!)

Missy Elliott – Get Ur Freak On

Beyonce – Get Me Bodied

Jay-Z – Dirt Off Your Shoulder

Beyonce – Crazy in Love (feat. Jay-Z)

Amerie – 1 Thing

Destiny’s Child – Lose My Breath

Rich Girl – He Ain’t Wit Me Now (Tho)

Usher – DJ Got Us Fallin’ In Love (feat. Pitbull)

Usher – Scream

Usher – OMG (feat. will.i.am)

M.O.P. – Ante Up (Robbin Hoodz Theory) (More so the original, but the link takes you to the remix.)

Ne-Yo – Let Me Love You (Until You Learn to Love Yourself)

Ne-Yo – Closer

OutKast – B.O.B.

Eve – Tambourine

Ciara – Gimme Dat

Jennifer Lopez – Get Right – Remix (feat. Fabolous)

Janet Jackson – Make Me

Missy Elliott – Lose Control (feat. Ciara & Fatman Scoop)

Kanye West – Stronger

So, what say you? Do you enjoy listening to music while you work out? If so, what songs get you up and moving?

-Love & Light… CB Radio

Leave a Reply

